Skip to main content

Pharmaceutical & Therapeutics Committee Info

Call for Medical Assistance Pharmaceutical & Therapeutics (P&T) Committee Members

The P&T Commission is currently seeking providers who serve Medicaid members to apply to the committee. Any Physician, Pharmacist or Healthcare Professional interested in serving in this capacity should complete an Application on the Iowa Talent Bank. Please note that completion of a Conflict of Interest Disclosure will also be required.

In accordance with Chapter 249A.20A of the Code of Iowa (as amended by H.F. 619, 80th GA 2003) the P & T Committee was established within the Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS) for the purpose of developing, recommending and providing ongoing review of a Preferred Drug List (PDL).

The committee consists of nine (9) voting members who are health care professionals and possess recognized knowledge and expertise in one or more of the following:

  • The clinically appropriate prescribing of covered outpatient drugs.
  • The clinically appropriate dispensing and monitoring of covered outpatient drugs.
  • Drug use review, evaluation, and intervention.
  • Medical quality assurance.

The membership is comprised of at least one third, but not more than fifty-one percent licensed and actively practicing physicians and at least on third licensed and actively practicing will pharmacists. The committee is composed of 9 Members: 4 Physicians (including one Psychiatrist); 3 Pharmacists (including one research affiliated); 1 Physician Assistant and 1 Healthcare Professional (currently a RN).

The committee members are appointed to terms of two years. Members may be appointed to more than one term.

The Committee meets three times a year, the third Thursdays of April, August and November and provides recommendations on the PDL to the DHHS.


July 2023

  • Jennifer Doudna, Pharm.D., RPh
  • Lacey Ferguson, Pharm.D.
  • Jason Kessler, M.D.
  • Rachel Kinn, Pharm.D.
  • Jason Kruse, D.O.
  • Charles Wadle, D.O.
  • Tricia White, R.N.

Conflict of Interest Policy


Date: August 15, 2024
Time: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Location: Grimes State Office Building Room B100
400 E 14th Street
Des Moines, IA  50319

More information

  • No files to currently display

  • No files to currently display